The Courtship of Jo March: a variation of Little Women

In my essay, “Finding the Palace Beautiful,” I wonder why Louisa couldn’t have let Beth grow up and become a beloved piano teacher instead of killing her off. I am curious now to read this alternate ending for Little Women, and what becomes of Beth if she had lived.

Much ado about Little Women

If only she had survived, and he had returned…

It’s the classic story of four sisters we’ve come to love, and yet we can’t help but wonder. Why did Jo refuse Laurie? What might Laurie have done on the European Grand Tour? What became of Jo’s writing, Amy’s art, Laurie’s music? Would a school have existed without Aunt March? And could Beth possibly have been saved?

The Courtship of Jo March is a re-imagining of Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women for all who have ever wondered how things might have worked out differently for the beloved March sisters – the life Beth might have led, the books Jo might have written, the friends they might have made, and the courtship that might have been…

Delightful…This book is for fans of Jo and Laurie, and it delivers in that department beautifully. – Into the Writer Lea

Heartbreak, love, grief, passion, victory…Massachusetts…

View original post 1,329 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s