My first Thousand Finds

Recently my husband and I went on a geocaching trip to Washington, D.C. While I was there, I found my one-thousandth geocache. This got lost in the shuffle a bit, because the main event was my husband finding his ten-thousandth cache, and completing the Cache Across America series. That was the whole purpose of the trip, the reason we went. My husband ranks among the top ten geocachers in the state of Massachusetts.

The occasion made me think back to when we both started geocaching, back in late 2008. Back then it was just kind of a fun thing to do with the family, a way to get outside and see some local flora and fauna, and to hike with a purpose. We shared an account. And we helped our daughter’s Girl Scout Troop, Troop 71915, find and hide a cache of their own.

At the time he and I were more equal in our interest. I even sometimes found caches that he didn’t. I particularly remember one at an airport in Germany, where the rest of the family, following their geosense, were going to give up. But I followed the GPS, and, most importantly, looked at where we’d all been, unsuccessfully. And went a different way. I found it myself on the road less travelled.

In the intervening years, though, he’s gotten more serious about the hobby, and I’ve gotten less so. He started keeping statistics and lists, and completing challenges and goals. He didn’t let wasp stings, aliens, or his GPS ending up at the bottom of a river, deter him from these goals. But I did. For me, what had started out as fun became an unpleasant chore and a source of stress and even strife. I would occasionally tag along, grumbling, but then neglect to log my finds, deeming that a waste of time.

What I decided, on this trip, on the occasion of my thousandth geocaching find, was to try to change all that. I’d already given up anxiety for Lent, and decided I was going to shed this stress as well. Instead, I would embrace geocaching my way, without heavy-duty lists, challenges, goals, or stress. But what would be different this time? What would make the next thousand geocache finds better than the first?

I got the idea to blog from the last time I picked up a long-term project again after burning out. I re-started playing the violin several years ago as an adult, after not having played for a long time. It was hard to come back to it as an adult student, especially in an instrument learning culture that values an early start and has an obsession with prodigies. No cute little “Twinkler” on a fractional-sized instrument, I. But somehow, in writing about it, I was able to keep going, and enjoy the journey. Everywhere I looked, I found something new that helped me become a better violinist.

So that is my overarching goal for this blog: Geocaching as a metaphor for life. There are many ways to find what you seek. Just keep looking.

CAAMDKLA

6 thoughts on “My first Thousand Finds”

  1. I once was active in geocaching, but I soon got bored. Then I thought about my interests. I like to walk through the woods, observe nature, photograph various birds, plants and other wildlife. That is when I decided to make geocaching exciting. Why not combine the two? I carried my GPS and camera in search of the cache. Along the route shown on my GPS to the cache, I would stop and photograph various birds, plant life, and wildlife. Not only did I start to enjoy the finding of the cache; I came home with great outdoor photographs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a great idea – to set a goal and then blog about it to keep yourself going. I’m fascinated by your blog, by geocaching, which I’ve never heard about before, and am definitely going to be back. Greetings from India.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Muddy mum, my husband feels the same way. He’s “cleared the radius” around our house. But then someone will hide a new one close by and he has to go find it immediately to clear the radius again. I think that inspired him to do a challenge at one point, too. I actually still have some old ones to log, which will get me closer to 1100. Where do you go?

    Like

Leave a comment