Not ready to rename the blog yet, but . . .

There’s more than a week left in the year, but the “year in review” posts have started on Facebook. I mentally start my own year in review process in early December when I write our family’s holiday letter. I managed to get them out on time this year with only minor glitches: my printer had a hissy fit and printed more than I needed, so if you’d like one, email me your address :-).

HolidayCard2015 copy

I’m less proud of the fact that this is the second year in a row that I’ve had to use Christmas vacation to catch up on old geocache logs. As I wrote on the “About” page, I started this blog when I got back from a geocaching trip that I went on with my husband for his birthday in March. He planned the trip very carefully, to commemorate his 10,000th geocache find and make it a special cache: the Cache Across America Final in Washington D.C.

Washmonumentsnow
The site of one of the first caches we found on the trip, Washington Monument in the distance

In order for him to get to 10,000, he had to find about 100 more in the days leading up to it. So we did something called a “power trail,” which is a series of caches 0.1 miles apart, along a road. People who do these tend to get into a routine with a strict division of labor, with 1 or more drivers and 1 or more jump-out-of-the-car-and-sign-the-log-ers.

snowcache
One of many geocaches we dug out of the snow!

My husband and I took turns doing each task, as there were just two of us. I got into a rhythm with driving and cache-finding, but with logging on the internet, not so much. I got home with more than 100 caches to log. I kept saying I was going to do it, I even put it on my to-do list. But, here we are, 9 months later. I could have had another baby in the amount of time it has taken me to log these caches!

But anyway, I still think, better late than never. It has been fun re-living the trip, especially on the heels of the trip we took to Big Sur for my birthday this year. Somewhere along that power trail in March, I hit my thousandth find. Due to my slacker logging habits,  I don’t know exactly when it was, and that’s okay. I’m comfortable with a little uncertainty, a little mystery. It’s also cool to see all the snow that was still on the ground in Delaware and DC in early March. You don’t see a lot of that when you spend Christmas in California.

sunsetsnow

I’m up to 1337 finds now. At some point I may have to change the name of this blog, but not yet.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Not ready to rename the blog yet, but . . .”

  1. No, I’m not planning to rename the blog at this time. Maybe when I get to 2,000 I might. My husband was saying, “oh, you can get to 2000 by the end of the year.” Yeah, right. I still like the idea of geocaching as a metaphor for finding unexpected treasures. Glad you were interested enough to look up what geocaching is! My first published story was about geocaching. It was in an anthology that came out earlier this year called “Geocaching GPS.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

