Thursday Doors: Milpitas

In 2016, the City of Milpitas set up the first Geotour in California. Geotours are a series of geocaches that are arranged around a theme with the goal of introducing the cache finders to a new place (and its doors).

Milpitas is a mid-sized city in the South Bay, between San Jose and Fremont. The caches took us to places such as the library, which has a couple of nice doors. For example this former grammar school building is now part of the library:

milpitasgrammarschool

Here is the main library door:

milpitaspubliclibrary

The first day of the tour last year was gray and rainy so there wasn’t much competition for the caches . . .

kareninmilpitas

. . . except for these kids on the lawn:

cartwheelsinmilpitas

Each of the geocaches also had a password inside, and if you collected 20 of the passwords, you received a geocoin. My husband and I actually finished 20 caches sometime last year but were never in Milpitas during business hours to pick up our geocoins.  We tried going again between Christmas and New Year’s but the recreation department was closed.

Back in Milpitas on an errand, I decided to try one more time before the Tour ended, and went back to the community center with our passports.

geocoinspassports

We were lucky, there were still some coins left. And a couple more doors too!

Thursday Doors is a weekly feature allowing door lovers to come together to admire and share their favorite door photos from around the world. Feel free to join in at Norm 2.0’s link!

17 thoughts on “Thursday Doors: Milpitas”

  1. Milpitas! Wow! I know of Milpitas because I belong to the Society for Creative Anachronism (sca.org), and back before the Internet, when you had to actually send in checks for things like membership dues, our dues always went to Milpitas. Not sure if the entire Society is based there or just the membership department (I’ve been lazy about looking it up). It occasionally comes as a shock to me that the city exists for other purposes, too. 🙂 (I’ve been in the SCA for almost 30 years, give or take.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Only indirectly! In the US one of the few German cities that Americans have heard of and can pronounce is Düsseldorf. There was a guy in my college dorm down the hall who though my name (Allendoerfer) sounded like Düsseldorfer, so he called me that and then shortened it to Dussel. When I went to Germany the next summer as part of a program through the German department, I found a postcard that had a picture of kids cartwheeling and it had printed on it “Gruss aus der Duesseldorfer Altstadt.” I sent this card to my friend because I thought he would get a kick out of it (he did). But I didn’t know the cartwheels the kids were doing meant anything special!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

