Book Review: The Elephant Whisperer by Lawrence Anthony

I met blogger Marsha Ingrao on the NaNoWriMo blog hop in December. We were excited to find out that we both were educators and both reviewed books.

For my weekend book review, I’m sharing her review of The Elephant Whisperer by Lawrence Anthony, here. As she says, this book will interest a wide variety of readers and integrate science and social studies if you are looking to use it in the classroom. And you really can’t go wrong with elephants! I’m looking forward to reading it myself.

Check out the rest of her Travel and History blog here at: https://tchistorygal.net/

Marsha Ingrao

This book, The Elephant Whisperer, kept me on the edge of my seat the entire two days it took me to finish it.

Considering that I was reading it on my cell phone the whole time because my Kindle needs to be emptied before I can load any more books, it’s amazing that I even stuck it out.   Out of forty-two chapters, there wasn’t a single dud.  I read it because I was intrigued when someone  wrote that when Lawrence Anthony died, the elephants mourned.

We all have problems and obstacles when we follow our dreams, but this man had more than most.  He bought a 5,000 acre game reserve in Zululand, South Africa called Thula Thula.  He had the ability to get, not only wild elephants to listen to him, but also local police, local political leaders including tribal leaders from warring tribes.  He conquered poaching problems, floods…

View original post 434 more words

Leave a Reply

