Backyard Surprises

In Massachusetts I spent a fair amount of time thinking about my garden. I had daffodil bulbs that I got as a free offer from the Breck’s catalog that came up for at least 8 years . . .

daffodils2013

. . . and tulips that looked fluorescent when the sun struck them just right.

IMG_2425

I was sorry to leave them, them and the bunnies, when we moved to California last summer.

BackyardBunny1

But this week, after the rains came back this winter following a 4-year drought, I found this blooming in my new backyard:

IMG_5162

Right next to the pomegranate bush. It looks exotic, almost like a botanical garden, 3 feet from the back door.

The woman who used to own our house passed away last year. Her son, who sold us the house, lives in Delaware. I doubt he ever saw them. I thank her for the belated housewarming gift, and I offer this picture for Pho Trablogger’s Mundane Monday Challenge #55.

6 thoughts on “Backyard Surprises”

Leave a Reply

