Fitbit Fit

Several Christmases ago I bought myself a pedometer, a Geopalz “Global Footprint,” toglobalfootprint
keep up with my kids, who got other Geopalz as gifts.

Four years later and I’m the only one who still cares. That Global Footprint has been lost and found too many times to count: in my Belmont backyard after mowing the lawn, in a store dressing room, in the garage, in my classroom at work in Newton, in the weight room on a cruise ship, and on the way back from a waterfall in Hawaii. (In that case, it was my son who fished it out of the water.) It survived a spin in the washing machine after not being removed from my pants pocket. My teenage daughter’s iPhone-in-the-toilet story may top all of these, but just barely.

geopalzAfter its final farewell, somewhere unknown at the school in Massachusetts where I taught (and where I was trying to see if I could increase the amount I walked around the classroom while I was lecturing), I got fed up.

As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t love exercise, am not particularly hard-core with respect to fitness, and sometimes tracking and goals and all this quantitation can be positively de-motivating for me. In the Global Footprint days, I despaired of ever meeting the recommended goal of 10K steps per day. I even suspected that, as much as the Global Footprint had been through, it was undercounting. Sometimes I’d watch it as I walked and it didn’t always move. Or it didn’t move right away and then would all of the sudden count up 20 steps. Like the watched pot that never boils, it seemed to do its best work out of sight and out of mind.

So, I asked the school teachers in a pro forma way if any of them had seen it (they had not), and decided it was time for a change. The Global Footprint pedometer was certainly cute, and it went all environmental on you, but it wasn’t very well designed for my lifestyle. I didn’t care that it didn’t track my sleep, the calories I ate, the water I drank, the number of flights of stairs that I climbed, or sync to my smartphone. But I did care if it stayed the f*ck on my person.

new-balance-life-trainer-pink-and-green-300x280I bought a wrist unit, a New Balance Life Trainer. Overnight, it became incredibly easy to meet the goal. Folding laundry while watching TV: another 400 steps. Playing a Haydn quartet on the violin with a lot of 16th notes: another 750 steps as my bow arm moved back and forth. I went from a questionable 7500 steps per day to more than 11000 steps per day. Occasionally, if I was sick, or spent the whole day in the car on a trip, I’d look at the pedometer and think, okay, I should take a little walk tonight before bed so I get enough steps. But mostly I allowed myself to be lulled into a false sense of security and fitness. I didn’t need to work out: I walked 11,000 steps a day.

Screen Shot 2016-01-15 at 9.01.17 PM

cantleavecouchWell, this Christmas I got a Fitbit Charge and I’ve been wearing it since December 31. It’s another wristy, but Fitbit seems to have figured out how to keep most of the laundry folding and violin playing out of the daily step total. It has to be charged every few days, it and my smart phone are buddies, and unlike the other slacker devices I have owned, it’s a virtual palooza of data that I’m not particularly interested in. For example, I’m ignoring its calorie, water, and weight functions, and I’m amused that it doesn’t seem to even consider riding a stationary bike to be exercise (although it included that time in its “active minute” total).cake

But I like the way it measures my sleep and how many flights of stairs I have climbed. And I like that its counts seem to fit best the way I feel and what I internally think I’ve been doing. It’s harder to get to 10,000 steps a day with the Fitbit than with the New Balance, but not impossible, the way it seemed with the Global Footprint towards the end of its life.

Wearing a fitbit has also started informing my writing. In the universe I’ve created in 2074 for Hallie’s Cache and Before the Darkness, people wear technology that informs them of all these things and more. They check the devices when they decide what they are having for meals, school sports teams use them for training. This is easier for them than it is for us today because some of the technology is implanted in their bodies, and the information is simply there for the thinking.

I have a character, Hallie—the main character—who rebels against all the tracking. Using her device gives her a headache and so she doesn’t wear it often. She ignores its sage advice when it limits her, when it tells her, for example, what her current pace should be based on her calculated level of fitness and her past performance. She runs too fast, then (figuratively) crashes and burns. She doesn’t achieve her goals in that setting and quits the track team. I find this impulse interesting, and relatable. I’m not sure if readers will or not. I’m still wearing my fitbit, though.

yoda

 

10 thoughts on “Fitbit Fit”

  1. Well, more weird fitbit behavior: 1. It hasn’t eliminated viola playing entirely from what it counts as steps. Last night it started vibrating that I had met my step goal in the middle of rehearsing Beethoven’s 7th! and 2. It counted some part of driving to Stockton as exercise because my heart rate was elevated for a prolonged period during that time. I’m not sure what that’s about. Sometimes driving does make me anxious.

    Like

  2. The day I lost my fitbit was a liberating one! I had become a slave to it. I still workout every day and walk and what not. I just stopped being so compulsive about checking it. My husband still wears his, though, and loves it. I do see both sides of it, but am happier without it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah yes, the pedometer. I got one forever ago in Dallas, and lost and found it many times, and recently found it, but it seems to have that same problem as you first one did, and doesn’t seem to move, when I know I’m moving and it should be too. I’d heard about The Fitbit, and considered getting one. Still uncertain that I will use it, and that it is on my wrist will be a distraction. I don’t (can’t) wear a watch.

    Really liked this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Interesting observations.
    I have a fitbit charge too. I have to tie it to my shoelace so it will register something when I’m on the stationary bike. I never sync it with my computer anymore – too much data. But I like wearing it – it makes me feel like part of the ‘fit’ crowd…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 😀 Great post! I didn’t realize you were working on a manuscript! How exciting. You’ll have to share all about it. Or did you before I ran across you? So do you think wearing the Fit Bit gave you more motivation than NOT wearing anything? Just curious as Lord Drollery’s birthday approacheth!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I definitely think that wearing the Fitbit (and even the others) has given me more motivation than not wearing anything. I think more self-knowledge is generally a good thing. Where I start to find it de-motivating is when someone else is telling me what I should do with that knowledge. I’m not sure what Lord D will think. My husband is not interested. And my father gave my mother one a couple of Christmases ago and she never uses it. It matters if he is willing to wear a watch, too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

