Hello 2016!

Hello2016
The Hello 2016 souvenir

I don’t make resolutions, but it is a goal of mine to blog more frequently in 2016 and keep to my schedule of writing 4 days a week. This schedule has been impossible to maintain over the holidays, but I’ve decided not to stress about it, and just pick up where I left off.

This morning my husband and I went geocaching, to another CITO event. We were supposed to pick up trash near the lake, in Shoreline Park. I found one new cache near the trail head and we set off with our little plastic bags from Chinese take-out. The trails were pristine.
pristinetrailOn one hand, that’s encouraging, especially for a park that was built on garbage from San Francisco. And people don’t just sit on benches in natural areas and leave a bunch of cigarette butts lying around anymore. But on the other, it’s a bit boring for a CITO event. When you’re out geocaching, you want to find something! Yesterday we participated in a New Year’s Eve CITO event with similarly little trash.

PlaneShoreline
Plane flying below the moon

So, it seemed to me that today was a day to find pictures instead, and collect geocaching souvenirs. People who found a cache or attended an event yesterday and today, got souvenirs to display on their online profiles.

Shoreline Park gives a good view of planes flying low, especially there below the remains of the Christmas Full Moon (now in its last quarter).

And the light reflects off the mud that the birds also sit on.

IMG_4551
Who knew mud could be so beautiful in the morning light?

 

 

 

 

 

My husband is starting a geocaching streak this year: he wants to find a cache every day of 2016. This is an especially good year to do this because it’s a leap year and will have 366 days. I’m not sure how I feel about this idea, myself. I don’t find it as exciting as he does. Instead I hope for more walks like this one, more time to see and be in nature without something I have to do, or somewhere I have to be.

 

KarenwithBirds
Happy New Year!

HelloSouvenir

2 thoughts on “Hello 2016!”

    1. Yeah, I guess it is a little strange. But it’s only as difficult as you make it. My husband is really into it, doing challenges, etc. But my approach is more laid back: just go on a hike and find a cache or two while you are out. It can take you to interesting places that you wouldn’t notice before if you weren’t looking for a cache. The CITO events are “cache-in, trash-out” clean-up events. It’s a service opportunity.

      Like

Leave a Reply

