A Little NaNo Whining

NaNo2014Last year at this time I had temporarily given up on my NaNoWriMo novel. It was day 23 and I was hanging out there below 20,000 words. I was at a stopping place and I decided I was done. The last week was crazy and honestly not a lot of fun. But at least I got a discounted copy of Scrivener out of it!

I’m doing better this year. It’s day 23 and I’m up at 36, 299 words. I’m only a couple of days behind, and I think I can see a clear path forward. I added a new character and subplot. They aren’t my favorite character or subplot, but they provide some more obstacles for my protagonist to overcome on the way to her ultimate triumph.

Screen Shot 2015-11-23 at 3.15.16 PM

The pep talks say that this middle part is the doldrums, the “saggy middle,” and I get that. I feel like I’m writing drivel, but I’m also working out some major plot points and motivations for characters, and the novel is changing. It happens almost imperceptibly, like the real definition of “sea change.”

What I’m not so thrilled about is the every day writing habit that I’m supposed to be establishing. I hate writing every day, and I hate word count goals. It’s turning writing into a chore. I’m starting to dread my computer, and the couch I’m sitting on. I’m not sure if I’m going to do this again next year.

But then, I say that every year, and this will be my third time.

5 thoughts on “A Little NaNo Whining”

  1. You are doing loads better than me and I have won… five or so times. So many times I have literally lost count! I blame the baby. Still, it has been great to get back to writing something new every day. I call that a success.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A few years ago, when I was taking a creative writing class at one of the local universities, I made a feeble attempt to do NaNoWriMo (exceedingly feeble – nothing got written). I think I announced my intentions partly due to peer pressure. It’s something I knew I would have a hard time responding to – the word counts, etc. But I need to write (beyond the blog); I’m not writing right now. Good for you that you’re doing it. Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had never heard of NaNoWriMo before this year. It’s definitely not something I could do with my current job, but I’m not sure how motivating a daily word count would be for me either! I’d be afraid that my writing would begin to sound too forced.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

